Username
Username must not be empty
Password
Password must not be empty
Already have an account? Login
Asked by Last Updated:

Is it wrong of me to tell my husband to keep our private patio private?

This is my first time using a site like this, but I want to hear opinions.
Honest opinions.
We bought a house five months ago.
We have two children 1 and 4 years old.
Our neighbors have a 2 year old and they are expecting their second.
We get along with our neighbors, and our children play, we had a couple of dinners together, but I do like to hang out with people in small doses.
My husband on the other hand would like to have every single door open so they can have access to our house 24/7 (not really, but he is very welcoming and cannot ever say no to outside people).
The next door couple, specially the wife, likes to hang out a lot and just drop by anytime.
I work full time and go to school full time.
I am extremely busy, but I am friendly and nice.
I have communicated to my next door neighbors about my schedule so they know I am a busy mom.
Last weekend, my neighbor (the wife) texted me: "I was wondering why your garage door has been shut" I did not like the text, but I did not text back, I called instead, simply because I know people interpret text messages the wrong way and I did not want to sound rude.
I told her to please not to take it personal if I shut my garage door, but I sometimes need to stay in with my kids, plus I am busy etc.
(don't know why I was even explaining this to her as it is my house and I can do whatever I want in my house) she then told me that I did not have to explain (so why on earth are you texting me that!) Anyhow, after the text incident I have been a bit distant because I feel that if I let them in a little too much, they can just assume it is ok to show up any time they want.
I simply want to get along without overwhelming each other.