Username
Username must not be empty
Password
Password must not be empty
Already have an account? Login
Asked by Last Updated:

Is my husband mentally ill or is this emotional abuse?

I am a young Doctor and my husband is a professional.
I met him in my first year of Uni via social media.
He had just graduated then and worked for 1 year.
I know he has issues and does not think like most people I've met.
He can get highly anxious over small things gone wrong, has a huge ego (and feels superior to people of certain class/ education/ cultures), gets overly obsessive over political views and makes changes to his life dramatically (each time he has a new view and persuaded easily by others), is a perfectionist, takes things people say the wrong way very easily as if everyones out there to insult/ critisize him.
He has pessimistic views most of the time.
He barely speaks to my family/ friends- again superiority issue and feels he has nothing in common so cannot converse.
He generally struggles to make friends anyway (has only 1 friend).
I am totally the opposite- laid back, last minute for deadlines, very social, and always optimistic no matter how bad a situation.
One thing I like- normally we have total respect for each other, never raise voice, never call names and never swear at each other.
The other day I knocked over a glass jug full of water from the counter top straight onto his toe by accident (whilst I was making his next days lunch).
I was in shock for a few seconds as his toe became black/ blue very quickly.
I rushed to his aid and began treating it with ice etc.
He went into total panic, in pain, shouting at me, ordering me about like a slave and his face just showed full hatred which made me scared.
He repeated many times I am f'ing careless and never learn, and one day I may kill him or even my future child while I sobbed so hard.
He continued to order me about.
I've never felt so demeaned in my life for half an hour.