Username
Username must not be empty
Password
Password must not be empty
Already have an account? Login
Asked by Last Updated:

15 years of marriage... but we've lost each other...and perhaps a spark elsewhere????

So here's the situation: I'm 35 and My husband (42)-- have been married 15 years.
We have 3 children together.
We were both each others' first relationships/sex partners as well.
Things have been REALLY rough lately in regards to communication and just getting along.
Most days we are like disgruntled roommates.
We are just focusing on kids, bills, work, etc.
I have a higher sex drive than he does.
  to put it nicely, I've been sleeping on the couch for the majority of six months.
Sex is MAYBE twice a month, maybe! I even went as far as to stand in the room wearing nothing but a towel once[insert flirty comment] but no dice! I asked if he would consider counseling, he rebuffed the idea due to the cost, time away from work, etc.
But after another LENGTHY argument, he consented to counsel.
(yet to go though).
We just don't seem to enjoy much together anymore.
Truth be told I am finding him somewhat irritating and BORING.
:( I KNOW that it's not right to stay together JUST for the kids and we try to NOT argue in front of them but being school-age they sense the tension in the room.
I do want to add that he is a WONDERFUL FATHER to our kids! It's really ME that seems to be neglected right now.
We never do anything without the kids and he seldom notices new perfume, new outfits, I lost 20 lbs, he barely said anything until I PROMPTED him by commenting on going down a dress size.
Anyone have any advice here? I am just wondering if this is how all relationships end up seeing as he was my first or if it is salvageable.
etc.
To complicate things even more a colleague at work has flirted and winked and shown a little interest.
He knows about the doldrums of marriage.
He seems caught in the same boat, he's married for18 years with two kids.