The geographic center of the contiguous United States is in Lebanon, Kansas.
If your spouse is no longer the center of your world, you may be living in Divorce, Kansas and you need to understand how to get a divorce in Kansas.
Kansas divorce laws – adultery
Many people wonder, is Kansas a no fault divorce state? It is.
Divorce law in Kansas no longer recognizes most of the standard “fault” grounds for divorce.
Until the 1970s, divorce was generally only granted if one spouse did something wrong, like having an affair or being abusive.
Kansas will now only grant divorce on the no-fault grounds of “incompatibility,” or the fault grounds of failure to perform a marital duty or mental incapacity.
Emergency divorce in Kansas
Kansas is one of a number of states with a waiting period for a divorce.
The Kansas divorce laws waiting period requires that most divorces take at least 60 days from the day the divorce is filed to the day it is granted.
Sometimes the Kansas divorce process can go on for months or even years, especially if the couple has complicated finances to unwind.
In an emergency, though, a spouse can get a divorce with as little as seven days notice.
Kansas divorce forms
Ever wondered how to file for divorce in Kansas?
Filing for divorce in Kansas on your own is made fairly simply because the state Judicial Council has provided a complete catalog of necessary Kansas divorce papers. There is no online divorce in Kansas yet, but the forms can be filled out online.
The divorce papers in Kansas are then submitted to the court and the other spouse.
The divorce process in Kansas then moves along until a final divorce decree is granted. This can move quite quickly if there are no disputes, meaning the couple has decided how to split up their property and how their child custody and support will be allocated.
If the court has to resolve those issues it will take much longer.
How much does a divorce cost in Kansas
The cost of divorce in Kansas will vary widely.
A survey from the Kansas Bar suggests that attorneys charge about $225 per hour. Getting a divorce in Kansas can get very expensive if both spouses hire attorneys that are fighting each other at that hourly rate.
Lawyers will sometimes agree to represent both spouses at a much lower rate. They will help mediate an agreement and then get it approved by the court.
Filing for divorce in Kansas without a lawyer, on the other hand, can be done for just a few hundred dollars.
Kansas divorce law – alimony
During a divorce, one spouse can be ordered to make ongoing payments to the other spouse. This is called alimony, or spousal support.
The idea is a bit old fashioned. It comes from the idea that a housewife should not be thrown into poverty because her husband leaves. Now it is usually only awarded after long term marriages where one spouse gave up their career for the other. Divorce law in Kansas lets anyone ask for alimony, though.