In Oregon, same-sex couples are allowed to register as domestic partners or to purchase a marriage license. Unlike some other states that recognize domestic partnerships, Oregon doesn’t extend this relationship status to opposite-sex couples.
Oregon’s Domestic Partnership law provides critical benefits, as well as responsibilities, that were previously unavailable to same sex couples in committed relationships. These include the right to make medical decisions for a partner in a crisis, certain rights and responsibilities related to property and inheritance, and provisions to protect children and other dependents.
Eligibility for state domestic partnership in Oregon:
1. The couple must be a same-sex couple.
2. Both parties must be at least 18 years of age.
3. One of the parties must be a resident of Oregon.
4. Neither can be married or registered as the domestic partner of another person in any jurisdiction.
5. They can’t be first cousins or any nearer of kin.
6. Both parties must be mentally competent to consent to contract.
To register for state domestic partnership, the couple must:
1. Complete the state domestic partnership form (646.28 KB) and print it on 8 ½ X 14 paper.
2. Have the form notarized.
3. Once the form is notarized, bring it into your county clerk’s office. Only one party needs to be present.
4. Present valid photo ID (i.e. driver’s license or passport).
5. Bring $60. This can be cash, certified funds (cashier’s check or money order) or debit/credit cards (fees apply).
After your identification is verified and payment is made, the county clerk will sign and register your state domestic partnership. The partnership is valid immediately after registration. Thus, there is no waiting period.
Unlike the county-based domestic partner registries that are largely symbolic in nature, Oregon’s
Domestic Partnership Registration is a legally binding contract. This contract can only be dissolved through a court procedure similar to divorce. In the event that you decide to dissolve your relationship, you should consult an attorney.
Oregon state domestic partnership form