Child Protective Services by Different States

Child Abuse Information by State

States lead the way in protecting children in America. The federal government has a very limited role. It has pushed states to create robust child protective services departments and each state has complied.  As a result, the United States has 50 different child protection agencies and each of those is generally broken down into numerous local subdivisions.  It can be confusing to know where to go for information, but the best place to start is your relevant state authority and below is a link to the proper authority for each state:

Alabama Office of Child Protective Services

Alaska Office of Children’s Services

Arizona Department of Child Safety

Arkansas Division of Children and Family Services

California Child Protective Services

Colorado Child Welfare & Child Abuse Response

Connecticut Department of Children & Families

Delaware Department of Services for Children, Youth and Their Families

Georgia State Division of Family and Children Services

Hawaii Child Welfare & Adult Protective Services

Illinois Department of Children & Family Services

Indiana Department of Child Services

Iowa Department of Child Services

Kansas State Department for Children and Families

Kentucky Child Protection Branch

Louisiana Department of Children & Family Services

Maine Child and Family Services

Maryland Child Protective Services

Massachusetts Department of Children & Families

Michigan Adult & Children Services

Minnesota Department of Human Services, Children and Families

Mississippi Child Protective Services

Missouri Department of Social Services, Children’s Division

Montana State Child and Family Services Division

Nebraska Division of Children & Family Services

Nevada Division of Child & Family Services

New Hampshire Division of Children, Youth & Families

New Jersey Division of Child Protection and Permanency

New Mexico Children, Youth & Families Department

New York Office of Children and Family Services

North Carolina Child Protective Services Program

North Dakota State Child Protection Program

Ohio Offices of Families and Children

Oklahoma Child Protective Services

Oregon Child Protective Services

Pennsylvania Child Welfare Services

Rhode Island Child Welfare Services Program

South Carolina Child Protective Services

Tennessee Department of Children’s Services

Texas State Department of Family and Protective Services

Utah Child & Family Services

Vermont Department for Children and Families

Virginia Department of Social Services

Washington State Child Safety and Protection Administration

West Virginia bureau of Children and Families

Wisconsin Department of Children and Families

Wyoming Department of Family Services

The federal government generally will not intervene in child abuse situations, but it does have some resources.  The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services supports a Childhelp National Child Abuse Hotline (1-800-4-A-CHILD or 1-800-422-4453) that is available around the clock every day.  If you call, you will be connected to a counselor that can answer questions and connect you with the proper authorities.  This may be a way for you to get a second opinion before you make a report that could have drastic consequences, and it can also help give you the confidence that you are doing the right thing.  Of course, in an emergency situation you should always just call 911 right away.

Want to have a happier, healthier marriage?

If you feel disconnected or frustrated about the state of your marriage but want to avoid separation and/or divorce, the course meant for married couples is an excellent resource to help you overcome the most challenging aspects of being married.

Take Course